Children’s Book Review: Fluffy Strikes Back by Ashley Spires

cover83275-medium Fluffy Strikes Back is a cute idea and is a spin-off from the Binky series of books. Fluffy Vandermere is the head of a space station that is charged with keeping the world safe from alien domination.

The art was very simple, and the stories were easy to read, and seem geared for early readers.

But I have to say, I didn’t find anything really overly interesting or outright creative in these books. Some of the lines were a bit cute – but I wouldn’t say to the point of being funny. And while I haven’t read the Binky books, this Fluffy book reminded me of the 2001 movie Cats and Dogs. I realize that so many times different people have similar ideas – it happens a lot more than you think. But this book didn’t seem to have enough going for it to make it stand out. And I think the lead cat in that movie is the same kind as the lead cat in this book.

maxresdefault

I’m sure these are accidental, but being that this book wasn’t too interesting of a read, it was hard not to make the parallels.

I think while the writing was on a level good for early readers, I think kids might find it a bit boring.

Thanks to NetGalley and Kids Can Press for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

