Book Review: Storming by K.M. Weiland

cover77583-mediumI used to follow K.M. Weiland’s blog. She gives some fantastic advice about writing. In fact, the quote I have from her off to the side of my own blog is one I’ve had for years. But I’ve never been a great blogger – either writing or reading – and when I stopped reading blogs, hers went with the others.

But when I saw this in NetGalley and realized who this author was, I jumped at the chance to request this book.

And I’m so glad I did.

I love the way Weiland writes. There’s just an effortlessness to her characters. What do I mean by that? Well, I guess I mean they feel like real people just being who they are. When Hitch goes up in a plane and describes his love of flying, it just feels like you’re talking to a real pilot sharing what he loves. I don’t know if Ms. Weiland has the breadth of experiences to be able to share them like this or is just amazing at getting into her characters’ heads – but either way, it makes her books a joy to read.

And you really feel like it takes place in the 40s. I wasn’t alive back then – and neither was the author – but the speech, and everything feels authentic.

I guess that’s what I really like about Weiland’s writing. There’s just an air of authenticity to it. Like you’re not reading fiction, but you’re hearing about the fascinating lives straight from the people who lived them.

And the mysteries! Where is Jael from? What did Sheriff Campbell do?

And the suspense! About 2/3 of the way through, she turns it way up.

And then there’s always the other shoe. But I’ll leave it to you to find out about that.

Highly recommended.

Thanks to NetGalley and Createspace for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

