Book Review: The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil

  Sarah is a lover of comic books. It’s apparent in then first paragraph when she explicitly and beautifully details a single panel of a Wonder Woman comic. You don’t need a picture of the panel. You can see it. 

I want to meet someone like her. 

Melissa Keil is an amazing writer, and I fell in love with each and every one of her characters from their respective introductions. 

And I love the regular reference to comic books. 

“…I can’t help but think that, comic book-wise, this while episode would probably fill nothing but a couple interlude frames; like that moment where a character has a sepia-tinted dream before crashing back into their real story.” 

And this: 

“I’m occupied with much more vital tasks of painting my toenails in Wonder Woman cobalt, with red tips and perfectly spaced white stars, and then cataloging my longboxes of comics into a color-coded Excel spreadsheet.”

Yes – if this girl is based on a real woman, I definitiely need to meet her. 

I really liked how it ended; I didn’t see where it was going. But then, the author pulls us into Sarah’s head, and she didn’t really know where it was going. 

“…the angst about doing is more terrifying than the actual leap.”

Yup. 

A beautiful story. Recommeneded. 

Thanks to NetGalley, Peachtree Publishers, and Myrick Marketing & Media for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

