Comic Book Review: Far Out Fairy Tales

 I’ve discussed here before how much I love retellings. So I was looking forward to reading this modern twist on fairy tales. 

This contains 5 separate stories – retellings of Cinderella, Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood, The Billy Goats Gruff, and Hansel & Gretel. 

Ninja-rella. At this point, I think I figured out that this was geared for a much younger audience. (I knew it was for kids, but it might be best for early readers. Maybe early elementary school.) But the story was a decent retelling. 

The most interesting part of this one thing, is at the end of the story, there’s the history behind the fable and how the update changed it. This is repeated for all the stories. 

Red Riding Hood, Superhero. I liked the idea of this, but it got really goofy. I’m not sure if it’s almost too young and silly for my 8-year-old. 

Super Billy Goats Gruff. This one was worse than the Little Red Reding Hood as far as being goofy and nonsensical. They get stuck in a video game…why? How? I like retellings – but I like them to be grounded in some kind of logic. This was borderline surreal. (And that mimic is taken from D&D, isn’t it?)

Snow White and the Seven Robots. Ah, Louise Simonson! This one is still obviously written to a really young audience, but it’s not nonsensical and a bit more interesting than the other stories. 

Hansel & Gretel Zombies. Now this seems like it was written for older elementary. It’s slightly more disturbing. Since the kids are trying to trap someone to eat their brains. It seems a little out of place here. Maybe because it’s the one I liked the best. (Oddly in the section that discusses the difference between this and the original story, it uses pictures from this weird, creepy, emo Hansel & Gretel story I found at the library. Come to find out, that was published by Stone Arch Books, too.)

To be honest, I’m not really sure what age group to recommend this to. Some of the silliness seems kindergarten level. Some of the stories seem 3-4 grade level. 

Thanks to NetGalley, Calstone, and Stone Arch Books for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

