Comic Book Review: Young Gotham Sampler 2015

This (free) book, as far as I can tell, contains 3 entire issues – each one the first chapter of the first volume of Grayson, Batgirl, and Gotham Academy.

They are enough to whet your appetite for each of these series.

Grayson is interesting; a secret agent is a different kind of story for Dick. And it ends on a cliffhanger that makes me want to get the book.

I really enjoyed Batgirl. She moves just outside Gotham and is going to school. I guess this takes place a little earlier in her career. It’s a little confusing – I guess she’s younger with the reboot?

I love the way it shows how her mind works. And the working in of social media and dating apps I thought was relevant and well done.

This story was pretty self-contained. But it did set up for a larger story that I would love to read. Guess I’ll be getting this at some point, too.

And Gotham Academy will be really good. Interesting characters. Fascinating plot. And Batman cameos! (I confess that I’ve already read volume 1 – and it’s great.)

So basically I’m interested in continuing on with all of these.

But I don’t need more books to read!

Thanks to NetGalley and DC Comics for a copy in return for an honest review. And for giving me more books that I need to read!

Leave a Reply

