Coloring Book Review: Meditations Through Coloring

 Coloring books are all the rage now. (Among adults, I mean.)

And it makes complete sense to me. Not just the nostalgia of it all. But the meditative-like qualities of focusing on this little bit of detail, yet being able to do it mindlessly.

And this coloring book is designed specifically for that purpose.

The designs in this book are “inspired by the ancient art form of henna tattoos, known as mehndi.” The intricacy of some of the designs in this one are amazing. So sharpen your colored pencils.

Though all of these designs are inspired by henna tattoos, they are really quite different. Some fill up the entire page. Some don’t. Some are merely intricate designs; some are of plants or animals.

I wanted to be able to get my hands on a hard copy of this one to really try out coloring some of the designs, but I was only able to get a digital version.

From what I can tell, though, perusing it, I think I’d have to agree with the book that “intricate and organic nature of the patterns makes them ideal for anyone wanting to focus their mind, relax, and explore the interaction of color and space.” I think if you’re into coloring this is one you should definitely try.

Thanks to NetGalley, Greenleaf Book Group, and River Grove Books for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

