Children’s Book Review: Starring Shapes! by Tania Howells

  I love math; it’s no secret. But sometimes I call it a guilty pleasure (even though I shouldn’t) because I do get funny looks from time to time. 

So any book that gets kids interested in math is going to score points with me out of the gate. 

But on top of that, this book is really good. 

I like the simple art. It’s cute. And looks like children may have drawn it. That’s not a criticism. It’s compelling. And for some reason wants to make me smile. 

I am kind of confused why some of the inhabitants of Shapeston are geometrically shaped and some are human shaped. But I got past that with a little suspension of disbelief. 

It’s not humorous, but the way the shapes were used made me laugh. It doesn’t even seem like that original of an idea, but it works really well. 

It’s a fun little book. Recommended to be read to younger kids learning their shapes and learning about their world. 

Thanks to NetGalley and Kids Can Press for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

