Book Review: More Than Comics by Elizabeth Briggs

  I have to be honest. I don’t think I’ve ever read a romance before. I just always knew they were all cheesy and fake. Basically, as not-real as they can be, but exactly what women are supposed to want. Kind of like the airbrushed models in Playboy aren’t real but are exactly what men are supposed to want. 

But this book was about comics, so, you know, I had to take the plunge. 

And holy crap – from the Hector and Tara’s first meeting at San Diego Comic-Con (they collaborated on a comic long distance), I was hooked. Elizabeth Briggs’s writing really nails it…after the first chapter I didn’t want to put it down. That was yesterday. 

And – I finished it today. Sure, the book wasn’t that long; but still, I must have enjoyed it. Ms. Briggs does a great job capturing character and dialogue – making them just real enough to be believable, and unreal enough to be step lightly over the line into fantasy. And I realize this was probably tame compared to some of the stuff that’s out there, but the *ahem* steamy stuff was well-written, too. 

Now I have to try to resist getting caught up in the prequels and sequels of this series that involve Tara and Hector’s other friends. 

I’d recommend this to anyone who likes romance and comics. Or just romance. Or just comics. I thought it was worth reading. 

Thanks to NetGalley and Victory Editing for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

