Short Story Review: From Stars They Fell by H.R. Harrison

 Life gets interesting when you realize there are so many people who are not just like you.

So then you try to put people in categories just to keep track of them all.

Then you realize that categorization is an evolutionary vestige left over from when we needed to make snap decisions for fight or flight, and human beings are too complex to put in just a few boxes. 

I think that’s what H.R. Harrison is teaching us with this story. I don’t often read short stories because you can’t get caught up with the characters like you can in longer novels. But here the author weaves an interesting, romantic, and especially suspenseful tale. 

It was a bit different from what I expected. A mix of science fiction and fantasy, as well as a retelling of a well-known fairy tale (though one that might be rated ‘R’). 

I liked how, because of hir culture, the main character used gender-neutral pronouns (ze and hir). I’m familiar with them, but I’ve not seen them used in prose before. 

I enjoyed it – not only because I got caught up in the story – but because it made me think. 

Thanks to NetGalley and Less Than Three Press for a copy in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

