October Horror Films

Like I said, I don’t watch much horror – unless there’s some reason it really stands out. Ringu is one of my favorites, just because it’s so creepy and good. I saw Cloverfield at the theater because of the buzz it was getting.

So here’s what I want to watch this month. And why.

Slither. It’s a James Gunn film! I’ve been a fan of his ever since I saw The Specials many years ago.

Monsters. Another one of those indy horror films. It’s supposed to be good.

The Keep.Nazis are chased by an ancient evil. This is a classic. (Actually – I have to admit that I started early and watched this Saturday night – it stars Ian McKellan, Gabriel Byrne, and Scott Glenn! But I wasn’t impressed.)

Enter the Void. Had this recommended to me. And it seems really weird.

Dylan Dog: Dead of Night. A bit lighter. It reads like a Buffy rip-off, but I’m hoping it’s not. And it’s based on a comic book!

Rubber. A murderous tire. Just have to see it for the absurdity.

From Hell. I rented this once to watch it and the disk messed up halfway through. I’ve never gotten back to this Jack the Ripper tale, even though it is also based on a comic.

Orphanage. Guillermo del Toro; the genius responsible for Pan’s Labyrinth. I’ve been interested in seeing this ever since it came out.

Red Riding Hood. More recent, and a bit lighter. Didn’t get good reviews, but I wanted to see it anyway. Maybe it will be creepy.

Tales from the Crypt (1972). I had no idea that this was an older film that the HBO series was based on. Or they were both based on the comics; so originally this was a comic book movie, too. Have to check this out.

Cabin in the Woods. Joss Whedon. ‘Nuff said.

Gingerdead Man. Gary Busey as a murdering cooking?!? I have to find this somewhere.

I may not be able to watch (or even find) all of these, but it’s going to be fun to try.

Leave a Reply

