How Much Horror Can I Read in October?

I finally decided this year (or at the end of last year) to really pick up reading again. It’s been about 20 years since I’ve really been into reading. After college and graduate school, I think I got really tired of it, so I took a long hiatus (about 15 years).

I’ve read (and listened to) quite a few books so far this year. And for October, I think I’m going to have some fun and read as much horror as I can – and mix it up with some movies. I normally don’t watch or read too much horror, but I thought I’d enjoy it this month, and that I would try to do a good mix – heavy and light, long and short, old and new, intended for younger and older audiences, humorous, and ominous. Even a couple comic book movies thrown in for good measure.

So, I thought I’d share my lofty goals! Here’s a list of the books I’d like to get through this month. I know I won’t get through all of them, but I’m going to really try.

The Darkangel / A Gathering of Gargolyes / The Pearl of the Soul of the World by Meredith Ann Pierce
I loved The Darkangel! When I read it when I was 13 years old. I know it’s about a vampire and a girl. It was creepy and dark. That’s all I remember. But I wanted to read it again. Especially because I just figured out it’s the first of a trilogy! Exciting, I know. But I’m going to try these 3 young adult books and see if they are as good as I remmber.

Bloodsucking fiends / Bite Me by Christopher Moore
A few years ago, I somehow read the middle book of this series (You Suck). So now I’m going to read #1 and #3. I recall #2 being pretty funny, so this should be light.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
I have no idea how I found this Young Adult book. I think it’s more psychologically creepy.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith
I don’t get much into the classics, so I never read the original. But I did enjoy Grahame-Smith’s Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, so this should be interesting.

Let Me In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
Reading this for a Movie / Book Club – I’ve seen both versions of the film (Swedish – Let the Right One In and U.S. – Let Me In) and enjoyed them both. The book should be interesting.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
Don’t know much about this one, but it was recommended to me.

Black House by Stephen King and Peter Straub
I don’t think I’ll get to this one, but I’ll try. This is the only one of these that I didn’t get from the library – I borrowed it from my sister several years ago, started it several times and never finished it. I’ve been wanting to read it because I read (and loved) The Talisman about 20 years ago, and I think this is a sequel of sorts.

Check back, because I’m also going to post the audio books I’m checking out, as well as the movies I plan on watching.

Leave a Reply

